Government College of Education Banipur
ESTD. 1948

Approved by NCTE & Affiliated to Baba Saheb Ambedkar Education University[BSAEU]
(Erstwhile WBUTTEPA)
Government College of Education, Banipur (C.T.E.)

Brief  History of Government College of Education Banipur

“Om Sahanavabatu, Sahanouvunaktu
Tejaswinawadhitamastu ma Biddisawahai

The Government College of Education Banipur is a famous Teachers’ Training Institute for preparing Secondary School teachers. It was established in 1948. The college has a long history being the first Teachers’ Training College in the district of North 24 Parganas.Earlier the B.Ed.course of this college was affiliated to  the University of Calcutta, then to West Bengal State University, Barasat and presently(from 2016 onwards) the 2-years B.Ed course of this college is affiliated to West Bengal University Teachers' Training Education Planning and Administration, 25/2 Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata:700019.

Sargent Commission Report was the best known for the “Post War Educational Development in India”. Sargent Plan was a terminal point and capstone of educational development prior to independence. One of the important recommendations of this Commission was the establishment of Teacher’s training colleges both for graduate and under graduates. In order to implement the sergeant plan, the Provincial Bengal Govt. took resolution to establish two Primary teacher’s Training colleges and two Post Graduate Teacher’s Training colleges at the ‘Baigachi’village(present name Banipur). Eminent educationists Smt. Blackden and AnathBasu helped the Govt. for implementation of the plan. A selection Board was constituted for the appointment of the teachers of these training colleges. The chairperson of the selection board was Mr Karuvila Jackaria(DPI) and other members were Ajij Ahmed(IAS),Smt. Blackden, and the mother super of Loreto convent.

The teachers selected for theses Training colleges were Himanshubimal Majumdar, Shyamshul Haque, Julfikar Ali, Bhagabandas Ganguly, Layla Khan, Nalini Das, Rabeya Khatun, Prativa Dasgupta, Amiya Chatterjee, Pratima Chatterjee and Najma were sent to England for training. Tarapada Bhoumik, Shailaja Roy, Mohit Sen, Amarendra Datta Choudhury, Kshitish Banerjee, Muhammad Mahasin, Subodh Sengupta, Charushila Bollar, Kansen, Luftunnisha, Shushila Mandal, Shunila Guha and Shuprava Banerjee were sent to Shantinikatan to receive training. HimanshuBimalMajumdar, Shailaja Roy, Mohit Sen, Amarendranath Datta Choudhury, Kanai Sen, Sunil Guha were sent to Wardha in Gujrat.

In 1948 two Junior Basic training colleges were established on the 7th September at Baigachi village (Present name Banipur). The Principal selected of these two colleges were Sri Shailajaroyand  Sri Mohit Sen. In the same year of 1948 two PGBT colleges were established on the 20th December, one for boys and the other for girls. Hamanshubimal Majumdar was appointed for the post of Principal at PGBT college for boys and due to the unwillingness of female professors to come to such remote village having no communication, the college for girl was shifted to Hastings House, Kolkata. Smt. Layla Khan was its first Principal.

Eminent Scholars who rendered service with full sacrifice at P.G.B.Training college now Government College of Education Banipur, were Tarapada Bhoumik, Bhagaban Das Ganguly, Kshitish Banerjee, Shudhanshu Saha, Amarendranath Dutta Chowdhury, Subodh Sengupta, Anil RanjanGuha (Music), Panchanan Ganguly, Ramtanu Lahiri,Pabitra Chakraborty. In the Nineteen Fifties there were so many scholars joined this college. They were Paresh Chandra Ghosh, KalyaniPramanik, Ranajitdey, Nabenduchowdhury, BanamaliKarmakar, Sudhir Samanta and Nitai Dutta. In the sixties and seventies many renowned scholars Anima Mitra, Chinmoyee Chatterjee, Nilima Sen, Srihari Maity , Ms. Arati Sen,P.K.Banerjee  joined in this college.Later on Dr. B.P.Bera, Dr. S.P.De, Sri Ujjwal Mukherjee, Dr. Jayasri Banerjee, Sri P.K.Tripathi, Sri Pratap Kabiraj,Dr. Pratap Jana, Dr.Jayarati Dasgupta, Dr. Asrulekha Tripathi, Prof Abdus Salam etc. rendered service.

From 5thApril 2023 onwards Dr. Kumud Ranjan Mandal is working as Principal  as well as Drawing and Disbursing Officer (DDO) of this College in addition to his normal academic affairs.

At present the 2-Years B.Ed. Course of this college is affiliated to Baba saheb Ahmedkar Education University (BSAEU) (Erstwhile  West Bengal University of Teachers' Training Education Planning and Administration (WBUTTEPA)), Kolkata:700019  and recognized by the NCTE. Being a Govt. College, the college has sufficient infrastructure facility to impart quality education. The college has its own computer Laboratory, Life Science Laboratory, Physics Laboratory, Chemistry Laboratory ,Geography Laboratory, and Games and sports facility, Hostel facilities for both boys and girls. The college is now acts as a College of Teacher Education (C.T.E). Various training programmes, Seminar, workshops, symposium are organized time to time by this college. The college is on progress regarding the projection of a Quality Learning and Training centre in West Bengal.